Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Brother H

Need help, especially now.

I've been dealing with moderately severe acne since about 9th grade (I am a freshman in college now), and I've tried a bunch of different stuff, but there hasn't been a single day where I've woken up and said "I'm clear." I've always had something.

The first thing I tried was in 10th grade, and it was the acne.org regimen. I totally followed it. However, after about 3 or 4 months, it didn't seem better, it just seemed more dry and irritated.

So I saw the dermatologist who put me on menocycline, which is an antibiotic. I was on that for a long time, and it didn't get rid of my problem or even make it better. The only effects I saw was that it made the pus turn from it's usual goopy state into really thin, threadlike material, so that when I popped a pimple, it didn't blast out, it more of effused out slowly in the shape of a very long, thin string. But anyway, I'm still on that medication from a couple years ago, and it hasn't really stopped anything, but I'm on it anyway because I'm afraid it will get much worse if I stop taking it.

We talked about using Accutane, but he said I shouldn't use it, because I get depressed really, really easily.

After that I sort of gave up. I've developed an extremely bad habit where I'll squeeze my face really hard in every pore I can find, hoping I'll get some fruit out of it. I'll do that like twice a day for 15-20 a time. My face looks absolutely terrible because of it. I have scabs that aren't even caused by acne but just from my bad picking habit. My face is red because of all the broken blood vessels. I'm a really angry person, and once I get going, I keep going until I've squeezed every last pore.