Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
adultacne27

Foods to avoid?

Hi there-

I'm new to the whole holistic acne treatment scene, but since my dermatologist has been pushing accutane pretty hard lately, and I'm not interested, I thought I'd try the other direction. So I'm trying a very healthy diet, one with lots of organic fresh fruits, vegetables, etc. But I'm wondering if there are any foods in particular that I should try to avoid, and would love to hear any advice anyone has on what to stay away from? Thank you!

Hi there-

I'm new to the whole holistic acne treatment scene, but since my dermatologist has been pushing accutane pretty hard lately, and I'm not interested, I thought I'd try the other direction. So I'm trying a very healthy diet, one with lots of organic fresh fruits, vegetables, etc. But I'm wondering if there are any foods in particular that I should try to avoid, and would love to hear any advice anyone has on what to stay away from? Thank you!

If you're not allergic to gluten try ezekiel bread ^^

Also, you should add beans, fish, meats into your diet but I would add these one at a time!

Because you may be allergic to certain fish! Or gluten!

Oh and greek yogurt is awesome! But it's dairy!

You should try it if you're not allergic to dairy. Perhaps replacing the fish for Fish oil would be great! :) Because fish oil contains up to 1000mg of omega-3.

Edited by EddieE

You could see if your acne is related to insulin/blood sugar problems. To do that you would need to...

Avoid these things:

Sugar (besides fruit)

ALL GRAINS (pasta, bread, etc. WHOLE GRAIN OR NOT, GLUTEN FREE OR NOT), Corn is a grain. Rice is a grain.

Starchy Vegetables such as Potatoes.

All Legumes (Beans)

All Dairy (Eggs are not dairy)

That leaves these things to eat: Meat, Seafood, Nuts, Veggies, Fruit, Eggs

Follow this for AT LEAST one month to see results.

Adding exercise will only HELP your insulin problems get better.