Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
amz

Just started water only method

Okay here goes.

I have had acne since I was 13 years old. From that age I have been using acne products till now. I'm 24 years old now.

I have been prescribed with benzoyl peroxide creams and gels when I was younger and was prescribed retin-a when I was around 18.

So basically I have been putting chemicals on my face for about 10 years now, I don't count everyday because I sometimes stopped using the medicines for a couple of months and then started it again.

I have also been on and off antibiotics (oxytetracycline). I am still taking this medicine now but I am trying to stop it slowly. I understand that this medicine if taken for a long, your body will get used to it and will depend on it, so I am stopping it very slowly so that I don't get a sudden increase in acne.

Anyway, just recently I have been thinking to myself that if doctors have given me all their medications and still my acne does not go then what could be the problem. Then I thought to myself that if I let my skin just do its job naturally without using any chemical or cream it should put it back into shape.

So I started to wash my skin only with water and nothing else, I don't even use a moisturizer.

What I do is every three to four days I wash my face at night with a cleanser and I exfoliate then apply coconut oil before going to bed.

Then the next day when I wake up I just wash my face with warm water, then cold water then just leave it to dry.

I do this every morning and night for the next 3-4 days.

Overall my skins colour has returned back to normal and the texture is coming back to normality.

The problem I have is my skin is oily but at the same time dry, how can I explain this? Well, its very flaky outside but inside it oily.