Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Hey everyone.

This is my first post. I've been reading this forum for a while, and just decided to join up then. Some people's stories are so interesting to read, and I just read a guys blog about his accutane treatment, with photos and was SO impressed!

I don't really know how this whole forum thing works, so I'm just gonna tell my story and hope that someone has something to say, or at least finds it interesting or something.

Well, to begin with, I'm 20 in 2 weeks, and female. I've had acne since I was about 14 or 15, but not really too bad. I guess I didn't think it was bad because, well, everyone gets it when they're 15! But now I'm in 2nd year uni (I'm Australian, I think you say sophmore in college in America, or something like that) and am literally the only girl with acne in my year. It's horrible.

Also, I have endometriosis, which is a problem in your uterus and ovaries. Sorry boys, you might wanna skip this paragraph lol. I've had surgery for it a few times and stuff, but the treatment is to take The Pill (Yasmin for me) continually to stop your periods, and I'll have to keep doing that until I want to have babies (a loooong way off lol). I used to find that my acne would build up in the month and my period would kinda "refresh" my skin, like reset it, if that makes sense. It would die down then build up over the month, be worst at my period and then all go away, repeat. Hope this makes sense. So now I'm not getting my period, it is just stuck at the "worst" point in the acne/period cycle. It's been like this for months (well, 5 years now I guess!). Also last year I was treated with progesterone (the "pregnancy" hormone) which made me have HORRIIIIIFFFFIC acne, and depression and I wanted to die. It made me moody and depressed and then looking in the mirror made me want to die. So, obviously I got taken off that, but the acne side effect is still here.