Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
dextm

Can't shave without getting pimples in nose/mouth/chin area?

I find that I'm constantly growing pimples/zits from all the red marks I get after shaving.

I use the traditional method of shaving which is razor and cream and I try to do it properly as much as possible (right after shower, hot water, massage with shaving cream, clean blade with rubbing alcohol, go over areas once or twice, aftershave balm, etc.) but I still get a bad shave and worse of all I end up growing pimples or zits!

Can anyone help me with this problem?

wwwDOTimg505.imageshack.us/img505/4892/49242627.jpg

Why in the world are you using rubbing alcohol? I'm no expert, but that may be your main culprit right there. It could also be either your shaving cream or your aftershave balm clogging your pores. What type of razor do you use? I used to get razor bumps all over my throat, but this all stopped when I started shaving properly. This is my daily morning routine:

1) In the shower, wet face several times while washing hair/body.

2) At the very end, lather 3 pumps of Dan's cleanser and gently spread over face

3) Confidently shave with the grain using a Gillette Sensor Excel 2-blade razor

4) Once finished, let water stream over face again

5) Gently pat face dry with a clean towel

And that is all I do. I can't tell you what a difference shaving in the shower has done for me, so I would highly recommend it. Also, I never clean my razor blade with anything, and I only change it when it feels dull, which is usually after a month or so.

Good luck!

I have the same problem. Best thing to do is have a warm shower before and after shaving

then let your face dry itself before using a moisturiser. That helps.