Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Tuna_fish

How is Retin-A cream used??

Hey guys I'm fairly new to the forum and everyone here seems awesome, however i need a bit of advice.

I've never had acne during my high school years since i always followed a skin care regime but now suddenly my face is full of it. I get really embarrassed when i meet my old school friends whom i haven't seen for years. But also back then they complemented me on my complexion. Plus i also work in the hospitality industry so yeah a lot of looks there T_________T

My question is can i use a cleanser and a exfoliatant (which contains Benzoyl peroxide) then apply moisturizer(noncomedognic :) ) after applying Retin-A cream :confused:

Because i've read on yahoo forums that using benzoyl peroxide negates the effectiveness or Retin-A

I'm also taking minomycline tablets (antibiotic).

You shouldn't be using benzoyl peroxide with Retin A. It works alone, independent of any other acne-treating chemicals. You just need a good moisturizer and a decent cleanser that does little else besides clean your face.

Yes, especially if you just started the Retin-A. It generally needs to be started slowly, every other or every third night, and with nothing but a gentle cleanser, good sunscreen, and night moisturizer if needed. It can leave you pretty red and sore even with just that! Be easy on your skin with it, give it time, and it'll do its thing for you.