Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

I have been battling acne for 30 years!! Yes, that's right I'm 48 years old and have been through it all. I have seen dermatologists in four different states and have been on every over-the-counter product, topical prescribed and oral acne medication known to medical science. I have even survived 5 courses of Accutane including a regimen of low-dose Accutane for a year. Yes, the Accutane cleared my skin while I was on it. My skin was blemish free. I didn't even need to moisturize because my skin is incredibly oily. I felt like crap, my eyes dryed out and have not recovered, but my skin was beautiful. The problem is about six months after stopping the Accutane therapy, my acne returned. I've also been on every type of antibiotic for acne and again, it stops working when you go off the medication.

Now after being off my last round of Accutane for almost a year, summer is here in Florida along with the heat and humidity and my skin is a nightmare. I am sick and tired of dermatologists who don't know what to do with me so I went back to what worked for me while living in California. At that time I saw a dermatologist by the name of James Fulton, M.D. He has a website by the name of acnebook.com While I was treated by Dr. Fulton my skin was clear and his regimen consisted of benzoyl peroxide and a a Vitamin A lotion (not prescription strength). The real key is the benzoyl peroxide. I encourage everyone to view the "Let's Talk Cosmetics" information he has posted on his site and/or read his book (see his website for more information) because many of the benzoyl peroxide lotions (prescription and over-the-counter) contain various chemicals that can make your acne worse. The ingredients listed on this site's lotion DO NOT contain any offending ingredients and I was shocked to see how inexpensive the gel was.