Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
RebeccaDeWinter

Do you think dark chocolate is truly beneficial, or just another health fad?

We all know it tastes good and a square of dark chocolate is a good substitute for say reeses peanut butter cups, but is it really good for your heart and skin?

We all know it tastes good and a square of dark chocolate is a good substitute for say reeses peanut butter cups, but is it really good for your heart and skin?

I've heard cocoa is healthy. So, if dark chocolate is made of pure cocoa then is healthy. Though, some dark chocolate usually has sugars added.However, It should be all right on occasion.

I would wait for more replies because I'm not an expert on this.

I've heard cocoa is healthy. So, if dark chocolate is made of pure cocoa then is healthy. Though, some dark chocolate usually has sugars added.However, It should be all right on occasion.

I would wait for more replies because I'm not an expert on this.

EddieE, I think that was an excellent answer.

You should be just fine with chocolate that has less sugar and a higher cocoa content.

Cocoa beans are high in magnesium and steric acid and they are low in fiber (great for people suffering IBS).

I love chocolate-covered coffee beans (which are lower sugar and still provide a great pick-me-up due to caffeine content) and homemade brownies are great because you can control the amount of sugar in them.

I don't think chocolate is good for the skin or liver, but it might be healthier to get a dark chocolate bar or one with nuts, dried fruit, coconut (these tend to have a lower glycemic index which can blunt an insulin spike) instead of pure milk chocolate and Reese's (although I do love PB cups!! They are really not too bad in moderation or once in a blue moon).