Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
djclare

Caribbean sun lamp - My experience

Hello

I have been holding off writing this review for a couple of months, I didn't want to tempt fate!

I have had acne for 20 years, it was successfully controlled by the pill, but I came off that to try to get pregnant and was back to square one.

The doctor prescribed doxycycline, which got me most of the way there, but I suffered really bad side effects once (took it and didn't eat quickly enough - felt AWFUL!!) and despite his assurances I wasn't happy being on antibiotics long-term.

So I decided to try light therapy, which I've been interested in for years, but I was always worried about spending the money and not getting a result.

I was tossing up between Beautyskin and Caribbean Sun Lamp and in the end went for the latter for several reasons. It's cheaper, smaller, the bulbs are LED so don't need replacing (particularly of concern to be if traveling where I thought bulbs might 'go' because of vibrations etc.) and they offer your money back for up to 3 months (I think) albeit with a 10% restocking fee after 30 days....

I was really exciting waiting for it to arrive and MASSIVELY disappointed when it did. The photos on the site only show the light when it's on, in the flesh it looks like a circuitboard behind glass. I nearly sent it back straight away because I thought it looked so rubbish, but as there was a money back guarantee I thought I may as well try it for a bit...

First time using it was also an anti-climax, I didn't feel heat or tingling on my face and the light didn't buzz or do anything to make me think I was getting some fantastic high dose light therapy!

But... to cut a very long story short, 2 months later I have been totally off the doxy for a month (previous month on half or quarter doses) and apart from very occasional single spot I am clear!