Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
bdp123

Brian's Accutane Log

First, a little history about me and my less than ideal complexion. I'm a 32 y/o male. I exercise regularly, I stick to a fairly healthly diet and I don't have a tremendous amount of stress in my life. I didn't have any major trouble with my skin until college (back in '95). Like most other people I tried everything my derm would prescribe. Some meds worked for a while and others had no positive effect at all. And I've tried just about every OTC remedy I could get my hands on (including Proactiv and Dan's Regimen). I've honestly had some success with Dan's products, but my acne always seems to prevail. During college and the years after I graduated, my acne seemed fairly random. It was never confined to one area of my face. But over the past couple of years it seems to have concentrated around my chin, mouth and nose. And just as an added bonus, I started to develop cysts. I had several removed, but they have returned. Sometimes the cysts around my chin would become so inflamed that my lips would swell like little balloons. Needless to say, I've become very self-conscious over the years. My whole face can be clear except for a huge, red beacon on my cheek (or chin, or wherever). And it seemed whenever I scheduled an appointment to see the derm to show him how bad my face was, everything would clear up by the time I actually got to see him. So I decided to take some photos of my face during my last major breakout to bring with me to my appointment. I thought I would have to fight to be put on Accutane, but the first words out of his mouth were, "I think it's time we try some Accutane". So that brings us up to date. I started Claravis about 15 days ago. I plan on providing updates as often as I can. And if I can find my "before Accutane" photos, I will post them as well. I will reply to any questions as soon as I can.