Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Caitie

Another Accutane Journey for your reading! :w00t:

Helloooo everyone! I know there are so many logs, but I hope you all aren't sick of them and will help me throughout my Accutane adventure.

I'm Caitie, and I'm 19 years old. I first noticed I was getting acne when I was in 6th grade, and I'm now a sophomore in college. It obviously started out as little zits and fairly controllable with ProActiv (lame) and other topicals. I remember my brother had very severe acne and he went on Accutane, but I hardly paid attention to how his skin changed.

Anyway...I believe the first medicine I took for my acne was Minocycline and then used Duac gel or something with that. I've gone through the entire tier of antibiotics and have been on Ampicillin + Spironolactone for the past 6 months. My skin has made that transition from hormonal acne to adult acne, and it's just plain stubborn. I have terribly oily skin, but I have tiny tiny pores, and I think that's why my skin is so hard to clear up. I have tiny bumps all over my forehead, the same bumps on my cheeks, and I get cysts on each side of my cheeks and on my chin. I rarely get blackheads, but I will randomly find a few on my nose.

I finally got approved for Accutane in April, but I had to wait. I had a blood clot in my lung in January and have been on Coumadin for 6 months, which I finally went off on June 1st! Yay! I wasn't allowed to take Accutane with Coumadin so I had to wait. I was so devastated that I had to wait another 3 months before I could start taking Accutane. And then I had to wait some more because the nurse that was supposed to register me with iPledge didn't do it when she was supposed to. She did it 2 WEEKS LATER. Ugh, but I've been patient, and with the use of Mario Badescu products, my skin has been under control and staying somewhat clear.