Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
cute-japan

Doryx 150mg a good option for me??

Hello guys!! ^^ i am new in Acne.org so i just want to know what you think.

Well...so a little about me first hehehe

I am a girl and i had have acne since i was 12, severe acne!, but then i went to the dermatologist when i was 15 yeah! i know i wait too much..haha and now i am 16 and my acne is now moderate. But i have SCARS!! :cry: that red spots that make my day awful but well.. :rolleyes:

So first my dermatologist give to me Minocycline and it was horrible i was feeling dizzy,headache and stomachache....Omg! so my dermatologist change to Bactrim!! :dance: and it was wanderful!! that was the thing that make my acne moderate until now...i was with Bactrim 2 months and now my dermatologist says that i have improve i lot, so he change to Doryx 150mg but i have read that Doryx onlu works with severe acne and no for Scars! (what i need more right now) and some people says that the acne went worse :confused: so i dont know...What Ya people think??? some Advice? :)

Thank Ya!

-Also i put on my face Epiduo and Dual topical gel.

*Sorry for make it so long but i wanted to introduce myself a little too*

Hello there! Okay, so I have been on both Batrim and Doxy at some point in my life. Bactrim worked for a while for me, about 5 years ago (when I was 15). I have been on Doxycycline for 18 months and am now in the process of weaning myself off of it. I do not know what your derm meant, but Doxy is NOT just for severe acne. Mine was more moderate, and it helped lower it to mild. It has worked to an extent, but just at containing it. My acne is beginning to resurface but it's too early to tell the long term effects of stopping an antibiotic.