Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Hello! I'm 18, and I've been on accutane for about 2.5 months so far. I've had a good and bad experience. The first month I was so depressed, I don't really know how I got through it and stayed on the medication. Ontop of the depression, my skin and lips were terribly dry, and I was getting a bloody nose from time to time. It's just not the greatest thing in the world as far as side effects go. The 2nd month started getting better, and my acne has really started improving. I'm still experiencing most of the same side effects, but I've either gotten used to the depression and anxiety, or its gone away. My best way to keep happy and somewhat content is working out. I've been lifting at home for several months, and it's really helping me get through when I can schedule something for myself, stick to it, and benefit from it.

I have been using creatine before I started Accutane, and I asked my dermo if it was ok, and she said to try it out, and make sure to keep very hydrated (as I always do). I've been using creatine with accutane the whole time, and havent noticed any side effects and my monthly blood work comes back perfectly fine.

I am interested in checking out a new product by MRI called HSP Active. It contains something called Tex-OE which apparently is a Prickly Pear extract. It folds protein into a much more usable form for your muscles essentially... hxxp://www.mri-performance.com/hsp.php

If you look under details tab it lists the few ingredients in it.

I called my pharmacist and asked about using it while on accutane, and he didn't know about the product. From what I have read it doesn't appear to have any effect on internal organs (liver, anything) based on the lack of any real requirements for the supplement (no warnings about eating or drinking anything, alcohol, in conjunction with anything, etc).