Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
fribjits

Poor College student, I need help with my diet.

Hi there, I'm a poor college student (Like the title says) with severe acne. I'm trying to eat better but it's hard at a university without much funds.

I have access to a walmart, a target, and a few grocery stores.

My diet currently USUALLY consists of:

Morning: Soymilk and cheerios, or brown sugar oatmeal, it's always one of the two.

Lunch: Whole grain toast and natural peanut butter, or chicken noodle soup, or sometimes nothing when I'm busy.

For snacks I'll usually almost always have either raisins or a high fiber bar.

Dinner varies, but is usually a bowl of spinach with something italian, like chef boyardee or spaghettios.

So I need some advice, if anyone could list some stuff I should (Or shouldn't) eat I would really appreciate it!

How long have you been doing this? If you have been eating like this for a fair amount of time, I would try low carb. Eggs, meat, and veggies being your primary sources of food.

So you have a full kitchen?

I'd suggest you make a lot of meals from legumes, lentils in particular as they are a very good protein source, as meat-pirate mentioned, then you can afford some more expensive things like salmon for other meals. And you can make a big pot to eat for a few days so you don't have to cook everyday.

Also, try steamed sweet potatoes for breakfast instead of cereal. Get canned tomatoes and frozen veggies to make soup, pasta sauce, etc. Spend your money on the most nutrient dense foods.

There are a lot of suggestions here:

http://www.acne.org/messageboard/Food-and-...ce-t205099.html If you scroll down, there's a post with some tips on how to get started cooking.