Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Hi everybody!

I'm new to this site, but I wanted to post a topic about the acne medications i recently received from my dermatologist.

I am currently a freshman in college, about to be a sophomore in a couple of days! Anyways, I've battled acne for roughly 2 years, although, there was a period of that time I was mostly acne free. I started to notice my breakouts the DAY before the first day of my senior year in high school. I remember getting a huge pimple, and it all went down hill from there. I've tried a variety of over the counter treatments such as proactiv, clearasil, acne free, and clean and clear. Nothing seemed to work and I was getting terribly annoyed. It got so bad that one of my "friends" at the time told my best friend (I'm not sure why she decided to tell my best friend, since my best friend tells me everything haha) that my face made her want to throw up. Another was going on about how my face had "exploded". These comments totally destroyed my self-esteem. So, my mom agreed to take me to the dermatologist around, I wanna say, early March of 2008. The dermatologist prescribed me to an antibiotic, (can't remember the name! sorry!) Benzaclin and a face wash by neutrogena. I didn't really start noticing the improvements until about May, and it got progressively better until I was pretty much acne free in July. Benzaclin worked WONDERS for my face, but it was expensive since my insurance didn't pay for it. We were paying roughly 110 dollars every refill, which I guess isn't nearly as bad as accutane or whatever, but still. I eventually stopped using Benzaclin and just went back to clean and clear, and thankfully after getting off of the Benzaclin my face didn't completely flare up. It stayed relatively clear with Clean and Clear all the way up until around mid-January to early February of this year, 2009. I'm not really sure what caused my acne to flare up again, but I'm pretty sure it