Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
effyouitssummer

Starting Accutane in 3 weeks.

I've been reading up on accutane, and after trying everything from Benzaclin(sp?) to Retin-A to the other cream like Retin-A. to Doxy, to Tetra, to everything else under the sun, i'm going to go for it. I know some people will say, OH NO DON'T DO IT! But i'm not here for that. I'm commited, I have to do it to feel better about my life.

Anyways, I know that accutane makes you very dry and prone to sunburn, which I already am. I have an SPF 70 non oil non breakout sunscreen which I have been using for about 4 months without any breakouts from it. So now that I have the sunburn covered, what do I use for the dryness? Right now the only moisturizer I have is some clearasil thing that I use occassionally, however it doesn't work so well.

So, what can I use for the dryness? And is there anything else I need to know before starting it?

I use CeraVe lotion as moisturizer. Some people use Cetaphil, but I found cetaphil to be thick and annoying, where as cerave works very well.

Get some aquaphor for your lips and start putting that on at night the first day you start. I use burt's bees chapstick during the day. I started using aquaphor on day 1 and my lips aren't very chapped almost 2 months in.

That's really all I can think of..limit your drinking alcohol, but its better not to do it at all...and drink lots of water..stay hydrated..

You may want to pick up eye drops if your eyes get too dry...I've bought some but only had to put them in about twice..

I've been reading up on accutane, and after trying everything from Benzaclin(sp?) to Retin-A to the other cream like Retin-A. to Doxy, to Tetra, to everything else under the sun, i'm going to go for it. I know some people will say, OH NO DON'T DO IT! But i'm not here for that. I'm commited, I have to do it to feel better about my life.