Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
n1ck

trying to pop a cyst

so, im not experienced with cysts at all, i usually dont get many that often.

but about 3 days ago i tried to pop a cyst, and i kind of failed, and a couple of hours later BOOM another one right next to the one i tried to pop! and some smaller whiteheads around it..

today the first one has become a wound, but the second one keeps growing :(

my question: can popping a cyst create more cysts in the direct surroundings? because it definitely looks like i broke out around the first cysts when i tried to pop it :(

im trying to get rid of this cyst now, ive already read a part about cysts written by wynne (big thanks!! :))

so im going to try icing it now..

i sooo hope it helps, because the thing hurts :(

It's definitely possible as you're spreading the infection around not just on top of the skin but possibly causing the cyst to rupture under the skin. That can cause scarring and more infection.

Do not pop cysts or nodules or any other 'deep-seated' pimple.

Look at the tips in the last link in my signature for help on a particularly bothersome spot. The tips include ice, an antibiotic ointment (plain petrolatum jelly is fine, too), anti-inflammatory medication, and a bandaid. Good luck. :)

From personal experience...yes! It can and will, often times spread under the skin and create more cysts in the direct area and possibly other areas if the thing ruptures inside the skin... Best bet is not to mess with them especially if they are not "ready".

okey thanks, then i summonly swear to myself: i will never ever touch a cyst anymore..

ive got just a couple more questions, icing a skin irritation causen the skin to cool down and usually works for reducing bumps, but with a cyst, the pus is inside the skin right? and the pus is what causes irritation, but icing a cyst doesnt make the pus dissapear.

then how can it be, that icing a cyst will make it smaller?