Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
desistylzz

Question about Tretnoin, Clindamycin and Prescription BP

Hi Guys,

So I am completely new to this board. You guys seem to be pretty knowledgeable and experienced, so I had a few questions.

I have battled mild-moderate acne for about 2 years now. I am currently 20, and had no breakouts till I was 18. I was on Duac for a while (prescribed by family doc), which worked okay, but never really gave me truly clear skin. Also, it left little red marks on my face. It is just my upper cheek area which is the main problem for me.

A week ago, I finally went to a real derm. She prescribed me Tretnoin to use at night, clindamycin in the day, and BP (Pacnex 7%) both day and night. Personally, I am very uncomfortable putting on so many things on my face because I feel one just aggrevates the other.

Anyway, I just had a few questions for you guys who have/are using these things. I am really a novice when it comes to this type of stuff, so your advice will be really appreciated guys, I really would like to hear you comments:

1. Ever since using tretinoin 1% cream which I was prescribed, I have little bumps almost all over my face. They are the same color as my skin, and only can be seen under certain types of lights. But it is kinda scary, because they literally are all over, everywhere I apply the Tretinoin/ Clinda/ and BP. I was just wondering whether this is normal? Is this a bad reaction? Will it normalize in time? If so how long? Please share your own personal experiences about this I am really nervous.

2. Also, my acne seems to have gotten worse since I have been on this regimen. I only get "red enlarged" pimples on one side of my face, and then too not too many. Since being on this, I have gotten quite a few. Much more than I have had in a while. I was also wondering whether this is normal? I know people talk about the initial break out...is that what this is?