Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
micheleanne

Just started Accutane- feel dizzy with a sense of vertigo. Is this normal?

Hi, all. This is my first time to the forum so I hope I'll be able to benefit from your experiences. I've suffered from moderate acne/oily skin with the occasional nodular break-out for 20 years. And despite not having severe acne, or nodular acne my dermatologist decided to prescribe Accutane since I've not responded to any other treatments. (Not sure if that was a smart decision or not...)

I've been on Accutane for 3 days, is it possible to be feeling what I am feeling so soon? When I woke up on day 4, the room seemed to be spinning in a clockwise direction. For the rest of the day I had slight feelings of vertigo, mixed with a loss of equilibrium. The dizziness got so bad it caused me to dry heave twice through the day. I ended up staying in all day because walking was so awkward, my body kept wanting to lean, or fall to one side. It was almost like having the effects of being drunk, except I did not feel "high" My mind felt clear, and I had a total sense of clarity. Also, and I know this will sound weird- the lower portion of my right leg kept getting warm. It seemed to be getting hot flashes throughout the day.

This sense of disorientation is slightly alarming and I wonder if this could in fact be from the Accutane. Again, I have only taken 3 pills (one 40 mg pill/day). Do these side effects subside, or should I stop treatment? I left a message for my doctor but since it is the weekend, I won't hear anything until Monday.

Have any of you experienced anything like this? Is it normal? How did you cope with it?

Hmm, i've never heard of anything like the effects you were going through, umm, by best advice is that you should see if it happens the next morning, or anything else like that weird happens i would deffinatley contact your dermatologist if it continues to happen, it could just be a one time thing,