Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Disclaimer: I'm not a doctor, just an idiot on the Internet. Do nothing without consulting a doctor. I assume you are otherwise healthy and have all the body parts you were born with. I assume you are an adult.

Hypothesis: A significant percentage of chronic acne has zinc metabolism at its root. Specifically, a failure to generate sufficient zinc superoxide dismutase (ZSOD) every night is the proximal cause. Relatively simple diet/lifestyle changes should be able to correct this problem and drastically reduce or eliminate acne. The most obvious way to have insufficient ZSOD is to have insufficient zinc, but simply increasing supplemental zinc is not an acne cure for most people (please don't go take a bunch of zinc and then tell me it didn't work -- that's what I just said!). Multiple factors can interfere with the absorption of zinc. The nightly surge of pineal melatonin is key to stimulating cells to produce ZSOD. The production of melatonin requires healthy levels of serum tryptophan. Multiple factors can interfere both with absorbing tryptophan from diet, and with the production of melatonin from it. All the points in the regimen below relate directly to the desire to increase the nightly production of ZSOD.

Regimen:

I've pointed directly to specific products only because people invariably ask for a pointer. These are not affiliate links; I make no money and have no affiliation with the vendor(s).