Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
kaitlynanne

talc, causing my breakout all these years.

this might be a completely pointless thread but I feel like I need to talk about this.

I've read some very interesting reviews on make-up containing talc.

I decided to check my make-up that I use to make sure no talc is in it.

To my shock my covergirl blush and bronzer both contain talc. I've been using them for the past 2 years, which is right around when my acne started to flare up. I also went to wal-mart and read the ingerdents fo the foundation I used to use aswell and it contains Talc! As a matter of fact every single covegirl skin product they have out contains talc.

I came home yesterday and threw it all out.

I want to know what people think about this? Am I being silly and looking into this too much?

Or could this really be what has caused my breakouts and has continued them until now?

all comments and advice are greatly apprchiated.

Q. Why is talc harmful?

A. Talc is closely related to the potent carcinogen asbestos. Talc particles have been shown to cause tumors in the ovaries and lungs of cancer victims. For the last 30 years, scientists have closely scrutinized talc particles and found dangerous similarities to asbestos. Responding to this evidence in 1973, the FDA drafted a resolution that would limit the amount of asbestos-like fibers in cosmetic grade talc. However, no ruling has ever been made and today, cosmetic grade talc remains non-regulated by the federal government. This inaction ignores a 1993 National Toxicology Program report which found that cosmetic grade talc, without any asbestos-like fibers, caused tumors in animal subjects.1 Clearly with or without asbestos-like fibers, cosmetic grade talcum powder is a carcinogen.