Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
taybay

Treatment suggestions for my scar

I have had a 'sunken in' scar on my forehead for several years now. It's the result of a brown recluse bite (happened in my sleep). I am really interested in having it fixed. I'm 18 but just over a year ago, we talked to a doctor from our church who recommended either collagen injections or excision. They took photos of my scar and sent it to our insurance company, who refused to help pay for the excision because they saw it as cosmetic rather than medical. My parents never did bother to see anymore doctors, as they saw it as too expensive and unnecessary. But I can't even begin to explain the depression I fell into after the bite because of how low my self-esteem got. I have bangs right now to cover it up but I really want to be able to get a consultation and possibly the excision.

My question is to people who have had similar scars and excision... I am completely new to this and I was wondering if excision would be the right choice for my scar (photo attached). I also am curious about the things I should ask about when in consultation. I've googled for doctors in Alabama who do excisions but I really have no idea what kind of specifics I should be asking and how to make sure the doctor is going to be good and is giving me a good price.

My photo attached, I also made sure to keep in my hairline and the tip of my sunglasses so you can see how big the scar is. It's just smaller than a dime. It's also discolored with a paler shade of my skin, however I try to hide that with make-up, so you can't see that very well in this particular pic. From what I've read in the FAQ this would be considered a 'box scar' I think.

Thoughts or suggestions?

post-94170-1232852912_thumb.jpg

post-94170-1232852912_thumb.jpg