Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
totallyfedup

Accutane just stopped working?

I'm in my 5th month of Accutane (second course, my first was in 2000-2001). I started with 20mg and my doc increased to 40 the second month.

By the end of the second month, I was completely clear. Not a zit in sight.

Then my doc increased me to 60mg and I started breaking out a little.

I went back, my doc saw my face and decided to up the dosage even more. She put me on 80mg. I started having cystic acne again and, at one point, my cheeks were more broken out than they have been in probably the last 5 years.

Now she's got me up to 90mg and I have a few huge cysts and several new little zits popping up every day.

What gives? I was totally clear and then everything went downhill again. Has this happened to anyone else?

im not too sure, but my guess is since she keeps pushing up the dose its pushing out more acne?

i think its a good thing. im not an expert though. sorry, good luck!

I think that the 40+mg are to strong for your skin. You should probably go back to the 20mg and get a new doctor.

I think that the 40+mg are to strong for your skin. You should probably go back to the 20mg and get a new doctor.

I asked her about that and she insisted that there's no evidence to suggest that there can be a dose that's "too strong" for skin and that higher doses are usually better.

Is she full of crap? Does anyone know?

Most people experience breakouts when the dose is increased. Don't lose hope.

Hmm, so maybe I've been constantly breaking out because she's changing up the dose every month?

totallyfedup, yes. Some folks continuously break out while being on the same dose while others only do so when the dose is increased. Since she keeps increasing the strength, there's no way to tell if your breakouts would have stopped once your body adjusted.