Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

hello all, my name's Stephanie. I'm 23, and I've had acne ever since i was 15. I've never really seen it as a huge problem, I am a flawless makeup artist, always had a million guys chasing me etc. regardless, it's become a problem. I was always on some oral antibiotic, minocycline, doryx, etc. and i found out being on antibiotics for an extended period of time may cause different kinds of cancer. so i stopped taking them about three months ago, and my skin broke out like it's never broken out before. It's worse now than it's been in my entire life. sad, but true. I just took my first claravis pill today, 40mg daily. I'm so anxious for it to start working, but i'm so scared about the whole getting worse before it gets better thing. i'm in college, and its super embarassing w/ the whole... well lit room and staring eyes. my boyfriend of 8 years tells me everyday how beautiful i am, and how it doesn't matter what anyone else thinks (he's great) but it's still obviously upsetting. I'm just wondering if anyone has had the experience of not having it get worse before better? and also, wondering how long it generally takes for your skin to become significantly clearer? i really hope i don't have all those crazy side affects, although I hear whatever side effects you do experience it, that it's all worth it. if someone could answer me and show some support, that'd be great.

love,

steph

Hey Steph,

i started claravis about a week ago... and it seems that are stories are quite similar. In the past I had used antibiotics to keep things under control, but because of long term effects I stopped taking those. I also have a very supportive boyfriend, and i am currently finishing my last year in college.