Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Mainland

A few accutane questions.

Hi everyone, i'm new to this site and accutane (this is my first time on accutane). I have had mild to moderate acne for about 7 years now which Tetralysal once cleared up when i first decided to get medical attention, i was clear for about 2-3 years but it had come back and i'd tried many other antibiotics which didn't work this time round. So i went onto accutane which i must say has been very good so far, i've been on it for about a month and a half now and although i still have a few pimples i have seen good results so far and i hear that that upto the first 6 weeks is the breakout stage so its good to see some improvement from it already.

Anyway, i started on 20mg once a day for the first 4 weeks and i am currently on 40mg once a day for 4 weeks (been on this dose for 2 weeks already). I just wanted to ask what kind of doses people normally go onto as i look on some of the posts on her and i see people are taking upto 80mg a day...Should i ask to up my dosage or just stick at 40mg?

Another thing, to people thinking of starting the treatment, dont believe all the horror storys...yes you get side effects but there not half as bad as what people make out them to be! Worst thing i have had is dry lips and the occassional mood swing but thats it. I really dont know what all the fuss is about.

Would be good to hear from anyone on accutane (roaccutane in uk), like your doses? did you have bad breakouts and when? when did your skin start to totally clear? etc...

Would be very grateful for any kind of information on this drug.