Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
mrsraisinkain

Accutane journey beginning 1/6/09

First I guess a little background information. I am a 28 year old female. I have two children, almost 3 and almost 6. I have been married a little over a year to my Prince Charming. I am a full time nursing student. I anticipate finishing my LPN program in March of 2009 and beginning the RN program in April. I had occasional pimples in high school but nothing that really ever bothered me too much. My daughter was born in April 2003 and within a few months I noticed a definite worsening of my acne. My son was born in February 2006 and after his birth something awful happened to my skin. It is constantly like an oil slick, within 1/2 an hour of me washing my face. I started getting cystic acne which is very painful and also horribly embarrassing. After having had a relatively good skin experience in adolescent I am devestated to have to suffer this at the age of 28. I tried every topical skin treatment I could get my hands on. I have had a little success using Neutrogena's Skin ID recently for some of the less painful and more superficial tiny breakouts. Of course nothing is touching the cysts on my face. My acne is more concentrated around my jaw and ear line and my neck. There are always also 1 or 2 major explosions near my lips and nose. Finally I decided to do something about this mess. I made an appointment with a dermatologist. Within a few minutes, and after hearing about the cysts on my face, back, and shoulders that sometimes make sleep difficult she suggested Accutane to me. Having been a former pharmacy technician and a current nursing student I was not unfamiliar with the medicine and even had done research prior to my visit because I suspected that would be the direction the doctor would choose to head in. I have my first appointment November 26 and after the 2 blood tests my second appointment was on January 6.