Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Roman73

persistent acne

Hi Everyone,

I've had acne since I was 12, with severe acne during high school into my early college years. By the time I graduated from college, my acne had become mild (to medium at times). However the biggest problem is that is spread from my face to basically my entire body, mainly the chest, back, butt and thighs. I also have had problem with csytic acne between my upper thies and along my waistline, which have dark spots after the pimple goes away. the spot fade very slowly, and sometimes linger for years. I have tried a 5 month treatment of Accutane, but that didn't seem to work at all. It just caused my lips and corners of my mouth to bleed. I have take oral antibiotics, which seem to help somewhat, but doesn't clear it completely. Using topic oinments are fine just for a person's face, but not for routinely on the body. Being very overweight, I know losing weight will help that acne problem, but I know it will still be there even if I was 50lb lighter.

I also wanted to mention that I have certain poors that reccurently produce pimples, and one of these pimples just produces white/yellow strings/gobs of stuff. I don't think it's puss, I actually it is bacteria that is not being attacked by my white blood cells, that eventually they have no more room to spread and form a head.

Does anyone have any suggestions for me in the long term? I would take accutane again if it would work well and for a long period of time. I would also take anti-biotics for a long time if they worked well too. I'm not a big fan of creams or ointments unless it's for use on problematic pimples, or on the face.

Hi Everyone,