Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
notfun

cyclical breakouts in Males

Hey. This might have been covered here before. I am new. But these message boards are pretty dense and I'm not very good at sifting through things that might address this specific problem. So i apologize if i am repeating something.

I'm a male, mid 20's. I notice that some parts of the month my face will clear up (for the most part, save scars from previous breakouts) and then all of the sudden it will flare up again. These flare ups are super painful red bumps around my chin/mouth (not even really bumps) sometimes i think they are are ingrown hairs, but they don't even look like them. IN fact they aren't really bumps just like small tiny red areas that are super tender and annoying. I'll try all different types of astringents and anti-inflammatory product and nothing works. It seems i just have to wait it out. days go by and they go away, but leave annoying scars or peripheral pimples.

Then the other half of the month (almost split down the middle) is when my skin seems like it's in top form, healing up. Super tough durable, not sensitive. I can shave and not get any signs of razor burn or rash (as opposed to the darker time of the month).

I am curious if any other male has this? It's really frustrating. It's like i have to hibernate for the part of the month (assuming the flareups/breakouts don't linger over into the good part). I've been trying to eat healthier. Practically cut out on dairy, eat more vegetables fruits and other foods high in antioxidants. Is this a temporary thing? Because its gotten slightly worse over the years it wasn't this bad when i was 21-22.

Any of your advice would be greatly appreciated.

Hey. This might have been covered here before. I am new. But these message boards are pretty dense and I'm not very good at sifting through things that might address this specific problem. So i apologize if i am repeating something.