Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
longingforhope

how soon until we can achieve perfect skin regeneration?

Hi Everyone,

Sorry in advance for the long post, but as you can see I am recently a new member. I have been visiting this message board for the last several months now and have finally decided to join. I visit this site everyday for hope...as i know do many others.

I'm 24, female, and have been struggling with my skin since college. Through high school I would have the occasional breakout, but nothing too serious, and my skin really was quite beautiful. However, at the beginning of college I started to develop cystic acne. I would get these deep nodules that would become super inflamed, break open, and leave these circular rings of scar tissue all over my face. I have seen several dermatologists, used washes, pro-activ, been on meds, used elcina and copper peptides, and have even had a few fraxel treatments. I am clear of acne (luckily) but am left with a scarred face. In addition, I recently contracted MRSA which has left large scars on my face as well.

Many of my scars are what dermatologists call "superficial" because many of them are these flat rings of scar tissue...but they make my skin tone and texture look horrible - especially since they stand out from surrounding healthy skin. The MRSA scars have also left deep, indented, circular crater scars in my face that look so horrible in certain kinds of lighting. My biggest one is square between my eyes - so obvious - and it is impossible to cover. :(