Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
GuavaGirl

Dermatologist prescriptions aren't helping me at all! Help?

:wall: Ugh. I've been to the Dermatologist 3 times now, and she keeps putting me on Minocycline as my prescription, and making me use RETIN-A two times a day. I've been doing this for about 2-3 months now, and still NOTHING. I feel like I'm cursed with acne - and I'm only 14!! :(

Her instructions to me is to use a mild soap that is NOT for acne or it will interfere with the RETIN-A, so I haven't, but I don't know what to do here! My next appointment is in mid. January and I don't want to have acne any longer. I have "underground" zits, and blackheads, btw.

Any advice?

Oh, and any foods/vitamins I need to intake for maybe better results..?

Merry X-Mas! :dance:

Retin A twice a day?? That seems really intense. Most people use it once a day at night (and maybe a different topical iin the morning if they can handle it). Retin A takes a long time to see full results, you should probably stick with it a while longer. Maybe you can get another topical medication to use in the morning? Zinc and fish oil are probably the best vitamins to take.

:wall: Ugh. I've been to the Dermatologist 3 times now, and she keeps putting me on Minocycline as my prescription, and making me use RETIN-A two times a day. I've been doing this for about 2-3 months now, and still NOTHING. I feel like I'm cursed with acne - and I'm only 14!! :(

Her instructions to me is to use a mild soap that is NOT for acne or it will interfere with the RETIN-A, so I haven't, but I don't know what to do here! My next appointment is in mid. January and I don't want to have acne any longer. I have "underground" zits, and blackheads, btw.

Any advice?

Oh, and any foods/vitamins I need to intake for maybe better results..?

Merry X-Mas! :dance:

Yah my Dermatologist is making me use it twice a day. And my skin is peeling like terrible no matter how much moistuizer I put on!