Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Wit's End

Don't Know Where to Turn

Hi, I'm new to the message board so bear with me - I've been suffering with extremely sensitive skin and acne for about 10 years. I have experienced some relief, but for no apparent reason. It just seems randomly to be o.k. for a little while, then become ridiculous again.

I have tried almost everything I can think of after seeing 4 different dermatologists and reading constantly - pills, creams, gels, vitamins, etc. I am allergic to (among other things) B.P., retinoids, and BHA's. Is there ANYONE out there like me? I mean even if I touch my face for a second it turns red, ( but I have been told time and again I don't have rosacea, just very sentitive skin with acne) but I still want to get rid of my acne. My skin also flakes off easily, which makes acne relief near impossible. I just don't feel like I can take it much longer! Help?

thx!

you ever thought about just not taking anything? that could be your problem is your ruining you skin with all these meds. try something simple like cetaphil twice a day and some moistorizor. thats all i have though...

i agree with the above poster, maybe your skin needs a break if it is that irritated...

I use azelex (azelaic acid) and clenia emollient cream (sulfur is the active ingredient)...both of these medicines have dual purposes: to kill acne bacteria and to reduce redness...these might work for your skin too? the azelex is also quite moisturizing (i had some flakiness before i began using it)...maybe you can ask your dermatologist about these topicals after you give your skin a little rest...

Yeah, would suggest either giving your skin a break from all the chemical topicals, sounds like they have really taken a toll, or try out natural cleansers, honey or apple cider vinegar, for example.

Also, have you ever tried changing your diet?