Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Perrine

New, 30 years old!

Hi everyone

I am 30 years old and I am on Day 7 of roaccutane. I am on 20mg caps, one dose daily.

I started having acne when I was 12, I tried many treatments but nothing worked. So they put me on the pill when I was 18, it stopped my acne altogether. Last year, before I turned 29, I decided to stop the pill because taking it for too long kinda freaked me out with all the long term consequences and all. And, as expected, my acne slowly returned. I tried all the antibiotics, zinc, even a healer, nothing worked. My face was still OK, I was not pizza faced yet, but as summer arrived it started growing to my back and shoulders. I could no longer stand it. Plus, I am a teacher and I feel like I'm 15 again with all those zits (mostly cysts). That's one thing I do share with my students ;)

My doctor recommended I take Roaccutane to see, since I refused to go back to the pill. But I was so scared of all the side effects that I gave myself some time. And enough was enough, I decided to give it a try last saturday. I am to see her again in 3 months, but the treatment is going to last 6 months.

I have had a rough week: feeling faint (even had to leave the classroom on Tuesday morning!), lack of appetite, fatigue, I can also add that I felt a little depressed too (I am sure it was also part of it, starting the treatment, feeling so weak...it didn't help) and now, I am starting to experience dry face, sensitive skin, dry lips, nose and eyes; but I am handling my general exhaustion. I eat a little more but feeling nauseous still...