Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
sarahf79

Is this possible?

I've read all about the connection to acne & dairy. I am thinking that dairy may be affecting my acne, as well. I *THINK* that my recent breakouts could be associated with cheese.

But I'm confused about one thing.

Years ago, my staple diet was pizza. Seriously, I ate it about 4 times a week - gross, I know, but I was a college student. Obviously, this = enormous amounts of cheese. But during that whole time of about one year, I was nearly 100% clear. Wouldn't this indicate that I don't have an allergy to dairy, then? I've always had acne, but I've gone through clear periods and horrible periods. During these times, I have never altered my diet. That's why I don't understand that it would be linked to foods.

Cheese is my only means of dairy intake. I don't eat ice cream, yogurt, or milk. I have experienced lots of gas, bloating, etc. when I eat ice cream and milk, so I avoid them. I suppose that would indicate some sort of food allergy or lactose intolerance. But strangely, I don't have this problem with cheese. That's why the dairy connection is so confusing for me...

So if I decide to do the no dairy thing, is it only cow's milk products that are bad? Meaning, could I have sheep's or goat's cheese? What about organic dairy products? If they don't contain the hormones, they should be OK, right?

So if I decide to do the no dairy thing, is it only cow's milk products that are bad? Meaning, could I have sheep's or goat's cheese? What about organic dairy products? If they don't contain the hormones, they should be OK, right?

It depends on the reason you have a problem with dairy. You just have to try them and see. It's not just the hormones. And there will still be hormones in the organic milk.