Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
trophyGF

Pregnenolone and Saw Palmetto

Hi everyone!

This is my first time posting, although I have been a reader of this forum for a few years. I just wanted to let everyone know how I have finally managed to control a severe case of cystic acne that has been reoccurring since I was a teenager. I am now 22.

Over the last 3 months, my skin erupted into the worse case of cystic acne I had ever had. I have been to dermatologists, an endocrinologist, two women's health doctors, and my gynecologist. I had two blood tests done through Life Extension (you can find them online at www.lef.com). I took these blood tests to my doctors and I was diagnosed with hormonal acne due to high testosterone and low estrogen levels. I was given an oral antibiotic along with Differin and several different facial cleansers and topical treatments. I did blue light therapy and Isolaz as well. Everyone gave me something new to try, and I was completely open to any and all suggestions. Nothing seemed to be working. I already have a super healthy lifestyle. I exercise, eat very healthy, and take a full regimen of vitamins and supplements. I don’t worry about money or working, so I have no stress. So none of the traditional "cut out sugar, exercise, and lower stress" methods was relevant for me. I was absolutely ready for Accutane, but I was waiting to get in to see my obgyn in order to get birth control pills, the first step in the process of obtaining Accutane.