Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
wingman1234

Prescribed antibiotics but i dont want to take them

Hey Everyone,

So basically I have moderate - severe acne and Ive had it for years. Ive been using minocycline on and off for maybe 3 years for acne.

I just went to a dermatologist and he prescribed me differin xp, neo medrol and doxycycline 100 mg

Personally I told him that ive tried antibiotics over years and they didnt work, and he still insisted i take them

so ive got a 6 week dose of 100 mg doxycycline (one per day) with 3 repeats

I just took the first one today and I didnt feel bad physically or anything but i just really wish i could do this without the doxycycline

Could anybody advise me what to do? I feel like i should listen to the derm bc hes a doctor and im not but at the same time im regretting taking it sort of

anyways if you guys can give me some advice id appreciate it alot

Just ask him to perscribe you a topical that you haven't tried yet. HE can't FORCE you to do anything.

I personally took doxy before and it worked really quick...I was cleared within 3 days

It was kinda hard to quit it tho

Here's how I put it...take antibiotic to speed up the clearing stage...then quit it and maintain the result by diet

mino is a weaker verison of doxy....so doxy might work for u~ just give it a try

no antibiotic doesnt affect anything on protein

It affects how much nutrition u r getting from food tho...that's y people cant gain weight on antibiotic

Just ask him to perscribe you a topical that you haven't tried yet. HE can't FORCE you to do anything.

okay so just to get this straight, you would recommoned taking it for like a week or until it clears me up then getting off of it?

Also when im stopping it should i stop it right away? or should i be doing something to slowly ween myself off of it?