Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Popsicles

My Experience with Levulan/PDT (started 9/24/08)

The moderator deleted my previous posts, so here is the summary of the week's worth of posts that I had......

Background...

I am almost 22 years old and I have been battling acne for about 10 years. It is mild-moderate. In the last 2 years or so, it has been cystic and all along my jawline and into my cheeks. I tried many things and had acne facials done regularly (every 6-8 weeks) for the last 2 years. Recently I discovered Thermaclear while I was researching zeno. This is a device that zaps your pimples and uses heat to kill the bacteria. It is AMAZING at clearing up stubborn and deep pimples, but does nothing from preventing them in the first place. So I was still looking for something for that part of the problem. That is what led me to the levulan and PDT (photodynamic therapy)

Treatment...

My first treatment was on 9/24/2008. It started with a cleansing of my face, followed by a microdermabrasion to help the levulan penetrate deeper. Next, she put three layers of levulan on my whole face and I sat (well fell asleep actually) for 1 hour. This felt a little tingly at first, but I got over that quickly and it just felt tight. Next, she washed that off and I sat under the blue light for 15 minutes. This was definitely uncomfortable, but bearable. It was very warm and felt like I had been sitting in the sun for a very long time.

Day one...

Face was red and just felt like a sunburn. Pretty tight, but not very painful. My dermatologist told me to soak my face in 1 teaspoon white vinegar and 1 cup cold water. That was very soothing, but awkward because I had wet paper towels stuck all over my face..

Acne was exactly the same as the day before.

Day four...