Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
flyingspagettimonster

Nicotinamide or BP?

Hi all,

Basically, im a little curious. Ive been using a 5% BP cream (Quinoderm) for a few months, cleansing with just water and then moisturizing. It works ok and im relatively clear but i still get dry skin despite avoiding cleansers and only applying a thin layer of the cream. Ive searched far and wide for a decent 2.5% in england, but could only find Oxy- which was uber-crap.

More to the point, Freederm boasts an anti-inflammatory 'Nicotinamide' and various sites say its just as effective as bp without all the drying nonsense. Just wondering, before i raid an online chemist of its quinoderm supply if anyone has used/is using freederm and has any views on its effectiveness?

thatd be sweet, cheers.

Tom.

Hi

I would def say to try the Nicotinamide gel. I find it brilliant. Dont buynicotinamide gel under the Freederm name tho buy nicam gel. Its made by the same manufacturer, but its cheaper and comes in a bigger packet (60g vs 25g). You can buy nicam gel behind the pharmacy counter in boots if u live in uk/ireland. They sell it online too. However i find freederm lotion good though- you cant buy nicam gel in a clenser , but the freederm cleanser is brilliant.

i found what works best, thought is a two stage process it has cleared me totally.

wahsing with freederm lotion - it is not drying at all - try it not drying and harsh like clean and clear . You just rub it on gently and then wash off

This is followed by the nicam gel. i find what works best is rubbing a good amount of nicam gel all over entire face - not just parts affected by acne. Do this morning and night.