Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Ruddy Mouse

29yr old female taking Accutane (Claravis) for the first time

Hi!

I'm on day 5 of my first week of Claravis.

Some background about myself:

I'm a 29yr old professional in the technology industry. My job requires travel, public speaking, long hours and a lot of hours clocked in front of a computer. I have a long term boyfriend, and we were engaged in February. I've just recently moved to my current west coast city to live with him after having lived in another city for two years. I'm physically active as a party of a roller derby league. I've been doing this for 4 years and my ability to play is extremely important to me. Typically, my physical appearance ends up low on the totem pole when it comes to priorities. Obviously I keep myself clean, I get waxed and regular hair cuts, but any routine above that is difficult for me to pay attention to. I wear makeup on special occasions (mineral based). I'm a social drinker, and have at times over the last 10 years been a heavy drinker with 3 or more drinks in a night several times a week. I'm now more of a 1-2 drinks when friends, or one drink at home with dinner or to relax after practice. I have suffered from depression in my past, as well as having been overweight with a family history of obesity and mental illness. I'm not currently depressed or overweight. In general I am skeptical of western medicine in the US, and prefer a more holistic view of the body and treatment rather than focusing on treating a symptom. I think exercise, diet, vitamins and sleep can cure most ailments. That said, I'm finally taking the plunge and beginning a 6 month treatment for my acne with Accutane.

My acne history: