Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
tricia

question about collagen

I have purchase many expensive creams that are suppose to build collagen in the skin and help scarring.... however if I do a strong peel like TCA cross or complex for that matter is that going deep enough to actually deplete all the collagen I've built along with the skin? I have had scabbing from some procedures, and while I know it is necessary to get rid of the scar tissue I feel like I may be burning away the collagen as well. Kind of confusing :-k

I mean we don't lay out in the sun because sunburns deplete collagen, yet we burn ourselves with various acids. Maybe applying expensive topicals to improve the quality of the skin before another good burning peel doesn't help?

I could write for a very long time on the subjects you have brought up, and I am not a scientist but I will attempt to sum up and be brief:

Generally speaking, most creams that are available aren't going to build collagen in thes skin. The only two topicals I know that may are: Vitamin C and Copper Peptides.

TCA CROSS is NOT a peel. TCA Complex is a peel.

If you do TCA CROSS you MUST read the article about it before doing it, otherwise you could cause further scarring. The fact that you do not know the difference between the two (CROSS & Complex) concerns me greatly.

Please do more research before treating yourself with any invasive procedure.

Most peels are just exfoliating dead, surface skin. Anything that penetrates the dermis should be performed by a Dermatologist or Aesthetician.

Procedures that go deeper than peels stimulate collagen growth in the skin in part of the wound healing response.

Again, please research in depth before doing anything invasive to yourself. smile.gif