Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
brushie

accutane and insurance...

im kinda new to accutane and im doing my research, but it seems like a lot of insurance companies dont cover accutane? is this true? or am i wrong? how can i find out?...i guess i have to call my insurance company, right?

Call your insurance company. Some insurance companies will not cover the cost of Accutane but will cover the generic forms.

When I called and inquired in Dec, my insurance company did not cover Accutane but had a mandatory substitution for Amnesteem. However, on Jan 1 they changed the policy to cover the accutane.

My co-pay for Amnesteem in Feb was $10 for the 10mg and $10 for the 20mg.

In March, my DR ordered no subst - so I had to get name brand Accutane. My co-pays jumped to $25 for 10mg and $25 for 40mg.

You probably also ought to ask what the copays are if $$$ is an issue

thanks, ill start to look into it. money isnt an issue - if accutane is gonna do it for me (after my current doxy setup doesnt work), then i'll pay whatever, but id rather pay a $10 co-pay, than not have insurance cover it at all and have to pay $100? $200? more?

i was just curious, thanks.

More, much, much more. I am on 80mg of Claravis (generic accutane), I got it at Walgreens. It was a whopping $547 dollars a month without insurance. Although i will have my next scrib filled at Costco. They only carry amnesteem, but the same quantity/dosage there is only $320. SHOP AROUND!!!!

I just got my script of Amnesteen filled the other day. I pay $3 and my insurance pays the rest. It told me on my little slip I save $431. So that makes my day. biggrin.gif/

I could pay $3 for generic or $15 for accutain.. But my Dr. told me that the generic does not work as well.. He told me that it had less medicine in it?