Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
harley2bradley

Differin vs. Retin A: Opinions needed

Hello:

I have been fighting acne for about 13 years now( the never ending battle) and I have used everything short of acutane. I have grade II to III acne. I am currently using differin 1.0 solution and it works o.k. but I still get a severe red nodule or two about once a month. The differin does not seem to really affect the nodules and they almost always leave a small to medium sized scar. At this rate I will have a face full of small and medium scars in the next five years. I was wondering if anyone had used retin A and if retin A produced better results on their acne. I also wanted to know if retin A helps the red marks and the smaller and less deep scars to fade. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

I've had acne for about 20 yrs.. I feel Retin A Micro is far superior to differin for shedding cells, and better for clearing red marks. You might also try using a glycolic solution during the day (15% works for me). I also do a monthly glycolic peel of 30% glycolic acid. This keeps the red marks fading. Your grade of acne would be cured with Accutane. It may only last from 6-24 months, but it's remarkable during that time. Then take it again after the affects wear off. Accutane is the best thing I ever did (took it 2x in 7 years and no one know I suffer from acne, that's how clear my skin is). And I had no side affects. Best of luck.

Thanks for the advice. I have a couple of more questions though. Do you use the glycolic acid while using the Retin-A or at different times? Does it cause any extra side effects with the Retin-A?