Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Hello,

I would just like to say that I am new to acne.org!

This is my opinion and does not guarantee clear skin. I believe one reason that many vegans/vegetarians/paleothics do not get clear skin is because of the consumption of carbohydrates. The scientific minimum requirement for carbohydrates in the diet is zero.

"Both triglyceride molecules and protein molecules may be broken down and converted to glucose in the liver. The process by which new glucose is formed from noncarbohydrate sources is called gluconeogenesis. In the process of gluconeogenesis, glucose is formed from lactic acid, certain amino acids, and glycerol portion of triglyceride molecules (Fig. 25.10)." Principles of Anatomy and Physiology, Seventh Edition by Gerard J. Tortora and Sandra Reynolds Grabowski, page 835.

To my knowledge if we look at the diets of the eskimo they consumed very little carbohydrates if any at all. They were very healthy and did not suffer from acne. Also many of the studies done on acne has revealed that a low sugar diet will improve acne.

If we look at the the diet of the native americans it was also was very low in carbohydrates. Native americans did not have super walmart stores. They did not go to a grocery store and fill a shopping cart up with tropical fruits and the like. People long ago ate foods that were in there own area. Perhaps they would have ate some wild blueberries, but not the crazy amount people eat today!

During the winter months the natives would soley rely on animal products. During the summer they would probably have consumed non starchy vegetables along with there fresh meat!