Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Ihasanugly

Accutane and Vitamin A

Hey, I'm new to acne.org, but I've had bacne for several years and up until recently I decided to do something about it. Little did I know it would be this difficult.

I'm not sure what type of acne I have, if it's acne at all. I know it's severe and it's an infection... some of the 'zits' have green pus D:

I've been using tons of medication... I shower frequently and scrub down with joy (yes, the dish soap... proven to kill more germs than even pine sol), then with clean and clear benzoyl peroxide scrub, then afterwards I put on the benzoyl peroxide lotion.

I'm 18 and still live with my mom. Thankfully, she's been helping me out with this. She's also assisted me with a few miracle cures (so to speak)... such as, the other night, she scrubbed my back down with Borax, then the benzoyl peroxide wash, then actual peroxide.

But she's also told me that all accutane is, is vitamin A.

That being the case (she told me), doing as much as rubbing my back down with Cod Liver oil (a natural source of vitamin A) would have the same effect, but a whole lot faster and healthier. I read somewhere that because the vitamin A in cod liver oil is natural and unprocessed, it's safe to take 10 times as much as the processed stuff. Essentially, every night I could rub the cod liver oil all over my acne.

Has anyone done this, or even researched this? I'd like to know a bit more about it. But I'd definitely try this before doing accutane.

Rubbing your back with cod liver oil isn't going to help much. Actually, topical treatments overall is just bullshit and a way to make money. You are just trying to get rid of the symptom of something that is WRONG in your body.