Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
s2a6r2a

Can the wrong concealer CAUSE acne?

I just found out today that the concealer I had been using for the past four months is not oil free. Could this have caused further breakouts? I've never had breakouts before this year and of course, the more I broke out, the more concealer I used. I got hooked on the concealer because it went on smoothly and really gave me great coverage without looking unnatural. So aside from a few lazy Sundays, I use it everyday. I can't understand why I am getting breakouts aside from possible hormonal changes as I approach 30. Ther has to be a reason it started so suddenly. I would think that hormones would change gradually. The breakouts are occuring in places I have never once had blemishes before and seem to be spreading as the concealer application spreads for blending purposes. This whole thing is so new to me. I did see a dermatologist a month ago and have been using prescriptions, but it doesn't seem to be improving that much. I can't think of another explanation.

definitely, the wrong makeup with pore clogging ingredients can definitely break you out, what have you been using? do a search on makeupalley.com and see if other people have had problems

definitely, the wrong makeup with pore clogging ingredients can definitely break you out, what have you been using? do a search on makeupalley.com and see if other people have had problems

Thanks for the website! It was a Clinique concealer. No one else complained about breakouts. It got great reviews except for people who couldn't match it with their skin tone and a few issues applying it under eyes because of dry skin.

I'd be curious to know the name of it, too. I was using Clinique's Advanced Concealer for awhile and it worked great but made me break out like crazy. Since I've stopped using it, I haven't had half of the problems I usually had.