Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
stratmom

Help me to help my daughter, please!

My daughter is 12 years old and recently began having a terrible breakout of whiteheads on her forehead and the bridge of her nose. She hasn't begun her period yet, so I assume a lot of this is because of hormonal turmoil in her body! The whiteheads now cover her forehead and the bridge of her nose. It's really awful! (See my post below where I show a picture so you can see what she looks like).

I have some experience with acne, so when this first began happening (about a year ago) I had her use a gentle cleanser, and alternate using salicylic acid products and benzoly peroxide products. This helped, but the whiteheads just kept coming. It was just a few whitehads here and there. But then they started getting much worse a couple of months ago.

So I decide to take her to the dermatologist. The derm gave her some product samples (Duac and Atralin). She told her to continue to cleanse with a mild non-medicated cleanser (we use Cetaphil), use the Duac in the morning and the Atralin at night. My daughter followed her instructions perfectly, and her whiteheads got MUCH worse in a couple of weeks. The whiteheads increased to the point where they now are totally covering her forehead and the bridge of her nose. You can imagine how miserable she is. The derm is always booked up, and we won't be able to see her again for 2 weeks. When I called for advice, she said to discontinue the Atralin but keep using the Duac.

I remember when I had acne and started on prescription creams, my acne did get worse before it got better. But THIS is really awful. My daughter's face looks terrible. She has very light fair skin and is extremely concerned about scarring. And it's not exactly "acne" since it's mainly whiteheads. I never really had many whiteheads (I had big pimples) so I'm rather perplexed about how to clear them up properly.