Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
heyo

Mandelic Acid vs. Glycolic Acid vs. Differin

Which of those products do you believe to be the most effective in fighting closed and open comedones (whiteheads/blackheads)? Explain why you think it's the most effective or how it worked for you! This will help everyone to figure out a product that a majority of people to believe the most effective. Thanks!

Hello!

I'm relatively new to all this (but not to acne or comedones unfortunately) but I think irritation and skin tolerance might also be a factor to consider into the equation. I mean, something might be effective, but it also might be really irritating, so perhaps you'd not want to use it.

Paula's Choice BHA 2% (Glycolic) is excellent for blackheads and blemishes.

But Mandelic Acid would probably be a better choice for sensitive skin.

NuCelle 10% Madelic Acid Serum should be pretty good.

Is there an initial breakout or anything with Mandelic acid or Paulas choice? I have tried differin before and it actually made me break out in whiteheads on my forehead (a place where I have never experienced them before). Thanks for any info in the endless battle.

Also does anyone here use Differin and find it to be effective? It defintely helped on my cheeks but never did anything for my forehead.

I am using Mandelic acid and Differin. My skin is not sensitive, so I can tolerate both. I use mandelic 5% in the am and then differin at night. So at the moment, I am just getting through the last of the initial breakout. I truly think that in a few weeks my skin is going to be amazing. My chin is 100% clear and the blackheads om ny nose are disappearing. My checks have a few dying spots and my forehead is getting ready to peel. I think once it peels, things are going to be great.

I would attribute most of this to the differin. The mandelic I am just using as a supplement, it's only the 5% (some people use 10% or 15%).