Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
ClearSilence

HELP! Immune to Tazorac?

Hi,

I really need some advice on whether I should give up on Taz and try a different retinoid.

I have been using Tazorac for more than 6 months but have stopped for a little while when my skin got clearer.

I started to believe that my skin didn't need Tazorac (though I still had occasional breakouts) and stopped for about a month. However, my skin looks terrible now even though I have been using tazorac again. Has my skin become immune to it? And should I switch to another retinoid?

I really want the great results I had when I first started using Taz [after the intial breakout period].

Hi,

I really need some advice on whether I should give up on Taz and try a different retinoid.

I have been using Tazorac for more than 6 months but have stopped for a little while when my skin got clearer.

I started to believe that my skin didn't need Tazorac (though I still had occasional breakouts) and stopped for about a month. However, my skin looks terrible now even though I have been using tazorac again. Has my skin become immune to it? And should I switch to another retinoid?

I really want the great results I had when I first started using Taz [after the intial breakout period].

You cannot just stop using Taz, especially after 6 months and a certain level of "clear". Once you stop using the Taz your pores and skin are even more vulnerable to pore clogging bacteria because they have become accustomed to constant cleansing via the Tazorac. When you take the Taz out for a long period of time your skin basically goes into panic and begins producing the only thing it knows how...sebum. You have two vitamin A choices for long term results. They are Accutane and continual Tazorac use. If you choose to stick with Taz it has to be a regimen that involves application nightly or every other night. It helps your skin stay on top of bacteria fighting. Hope this helps you out.