Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Seekirus

Having kids.

Hi guys, i've been thinking about my future and if I want kids. Then came into my mind, what if I pass acne into there genetics, I wouldn't want them to go through what i've gone through.

My guess is it would but i'm no expert so I thought i'd post and see if anyone knows more than me on the subject.

I don't know there has been so much debate on this whether it is genetic or not. But to me in a lot of cases yes it is genetic. But for some it isn't. I believe my acne is genetic and partly hormonal. My derm seems to agree. So basically I think there is always the chance that it will not be passed to your children too. But the good thing is by then I'm sure you will be well educated on how to combat acne better than when you started having it.

I have thought about this same question for several months. My brother has the same condition as I do: Extremely oily skin and hair and tons of blackheads. However, I am the worse of the two of us ---with huge lumps all over my face.

I have recently started saying, "Why would I want children? I'd be purposefully bringing a child into this world who is just as miserable as I am about their complexion. I'm miserable everyday with painful lumps all over my face. I dont want to watch them go through this and have to stand by and watch." :hand:

Dont 1 in 4 ppl get acne now? I read that somewhere.... So my child has a 25% risk of having what I have.

I do think it's genetic, but I also am hopeful that by the time my children will suffer from it, there will be more understanding of the causes, prevention, and better treatment.

Yes, that's another reason I'm letting a lot of time pass before I have kids... the more years that pass, the more chance that there is a cure or understanding of what is causing it. I also think, "Do you think there will be a cure in the next 14 years?"