Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
ThatAznKid

Any bio/science majors here?

I'm a second year and lately I've been debating whether i want to change my major or not. Currently, it is CS&E and I absolutely hate it. I hate writing java code sources and everything! Instead, I want to do what I'm most passionate about : skin. In order to go to med school, do you HAVE to be a "BIO" major? I feel like I've wasted all my time into my CS&E classes that if I were to switch to bio that I would be considered a freshman in terms of credit and everything. Sigh.. what should I do. =/

Me! I'm currently a freshman working towards a BioChemistry major, but I really want to get into medical school. You can choose ANY major you want and still get into medical school, there is no single one required. However, the pre-requisite classes required, like a year of Gen Chem and Bio, a year of Organic Chem, some BioChem, and some math courses, generally fit into biology related majors, so many kids choose this path. My advice to you is that if you want to switch, the do it! You will regret it later. If you're worried about being behind, 5 credits a summer would be a good option to help. Have a good one

^ Success is different for everyone.

College is just another path to fulfill a dream.

I'm a second year planning to declare my science major in the Fall :]

College is just a business. Biggest scam in the world if you ask me. Spend thousands of dollars and waste 2-4 years of your life to succumb to a piece of paper that "proves" your intelligence.

Break the mold, spend your tuition and build your own little lab and buy books. Specialize in what interests you. Become a new age doctor, or something. Don't become another pill pushing Doctor.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0lnBiyeMNVg

Knowledge>Diploma

^ I don't think any of those billionaires went about it by practicing medicine without a license...