Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
thaverve

Lifting weights....PLEASE HELP

so i started lifting weights about 2 weeks ago. i was going about 8-10 reps which is pretty heavy. anyways for my hard work i was rewarded with a small breakout on my forehead and a bad breakout on my chest and back. i head that working out was good for you but is lifting weights bad? can someone shed some light.

Someone correct me if i'm wrong but i do believe I read somewhere that lifting weights especially heavy ones increase hormone production and cause increased acne. Running can lower hormone production but i'm not quite sure...

let me quote Johnson from the ragforum

"I posted a couple of weeks ago a thread called 'The Gym and Acne', so you might want to look there as well for further info.

Remember that androgens are male hormones that women have too. They have an anabolic action, helping the body build strong bones and muscles. DHEA and testosterone are both androgens and they both respond to exercise. Funny though cos he response can vary depending on gender and the type and duration of the exercise.

Testosterone levels increase in men during most forms of exercise. Weight lifting has been shown to increase a man’s testosterone level by as much as forty percent. Squats, bench presses and back rows increase testosterone more than biceps and triceps workouts. In men, it seems the more difficult the exercise, e.g. the heavier the weight, the greater the increase in testosterone. Oddly enough, with extreme exercise, such as endurance training, testosterone can DROP, by as much as fifteen to forty percent. So my advice is to avoid weights and stick to other forms of exercise.